T Nation

Ineffective Training and (?) Dieting

Hi, (also have ankle and wrist birth defect where I cant bend it back all the way) 5"11.5 foot 190 lbs, 40 yard dash=5.4 secs, deadlift=180+bar, squat= 180+bar
I have started working out almost 2 years ago. When i started, I could barely bench bar. Then a year and more later (Idk how since I stopped working out as much due to tearing a ligament in my shoulders) I could bench almost 180 lbs. Now a year later, I can bench 185. I have been following WSFSB part 3 because I want to be as fast and strong with great cardiovascular endurance/stamina while maintaining my flexibility. However, I am not seeing any results. I am doing the program right I think, but I think my diet is wrong. I eat about 150g of protein a day, averaging around 3k-4k calories. All I’ve seen is me getting less muscle mass and more fat. What am I doing wrong? I thought since I am a beginner I shouldn’t do isolation but help me out here

Given that 3-4k calories is a HUGE margin to be unsure of, I think this is where your problem lies.

What EXACTLY does your diet looks like. Don’t respond with what a perfect day looks like, respond with your usual meals and quantities.

I eat 3 servings of protein shake which is (in 1 serving) 740 calories, 50g protein, 5g fat, 123g carbs, cereal, a hamburger and whatever my mom is cooking. I don’t eat breakfast.

What u mean? I should keep better track of what I eat? Like down to the fat/carb/protein and calories?

its hard to take advice from articles and books when sometimes the information contradicts. One said the reason is because I’m not eating enough, the other said genetics, and another said I’m not dieting correctly