T Nation

Increasing Waistline - How?

Hi there,

I started out lifting about 6 months ago and made decent muscle gain.
Before I started lifting I was skinny like hell… Now my bodyfat is still quite low.

But my problem is this:
My waistline seems to be too small - there is some sort of a “X” shape in my upper body. My hip is broad, then going upwards it decreases… at the height of my belly button it is quite small…
upwards of this point I’m happy - my back is quite broad…

But how can I get my waistline bigger?
I want to achieve the “V” Shape…

What do you think of training the lateral abs?

This is kinda funny:

“Guys, I wanna get huge, but my arms look like some anaconda that just ate a pig.
There’s these bulges all around and when I flex, the biceps measures 20 inches.
I really want to look huge. Please help!”

That is the V-Shape. Small waiste, wide upper back. If you’re going for more abdominal fat, that is very bad.

I think I know what you are talking about. You sound like an extreme ectomorph. Kind of the anorexic look where your waist is actually narrower than your hips when viewed from the front and your hip bones stick out. I suggest eating like no tomorrow. Post some pictures.

Do you mean you have some kind of hourglass shape like a woman? That’s the only thing I could think of from your description.

Perhaps he is talking about the upside down V.

Switch to the all pork fat and white bread diet.
www.backwoodshome.com/articles2/gabris79.html
And stop all that working out stuff. That’ll fix that small waist problem you’ve got.

-folly

[quote]PGJ wrote:
I think I know what you are talking about. You sound like an extreme ectomorph. Kind of the anorexic look where your waist is actually narrower than your hips when viewed from the front and your hip bones stick out. I suggest eating like no tomorrow. Post some pictures. [/quote]