Increasing Shoulder Press Strength

Hey guys,

I was wondering if I could have insight into how to best increase my max on the log press and push press. Of course, working form will get it better, but I also need to increase my strength. Compared to what it needs to be to compete as a lightweight - it’s terrible. I’m pretty new to Strongman and have only done a local competition thus far.

My other events seem to be coming along great so far, but my log press and overhead pressing strength in general needs a lot of work. There’s a local competition coming up in about 8 weeks and I need to increase my log press rep weight to 200lbs. I can press 165 for a triple, 175 for a single and 155 for 5-8 depending on the day.

I’m curious what you guys, from personal experience, have found to be great for increasing your log pressing strength? Frequency, set/rep schemes, intensity, accessory exercises, etc… My overhead press strength has already increased a lot in the last 2 months (which is sad, because it’s still not good), and I am wondering if perhaps there is a better routine I can go on to increase my shoulder press strength over the next 8 weeks. Generally I workout 3 days a week in the gym and 1 day events.

Thanks guys.

-DTC

I have nothing to offer but am posting so I can subscribe to this thread. I’m in the same boat as you, my pressing strength is lacking compared to my pulling and would like to hear what has worked for others.

J

Unfortunately, I am doing the same.

Also unfortunately, I doubt you will get much info in this forum. The PL forum tends to incorporate OH stuff…

With a sub-200 overhead, and looking for a quick increase, I would probably focus on either speed on the push press or try to develop some kind of jerk, depending on what you’re comfortable with. I would also hammer the triceps and lockout.