Increasing my Knowledge Base

Hey guys I’m personal training now but I desparatly want to get into strength and conditioning. I’m currently studying for my CSCS and in the future (hopefully another year) hope to do my Poliquin level 1. My concern is this, I do not have a degree in any exercise related field and do not want to go back to school. So I’m busting my butt to learn all i can from the net and through text books. Aside from T-Nation what are some other good resources.

milo mag

[quote]miniross wrote:
milo mag[/quote]

which is?

the science and practice of strength training by zatsiorsky is awesome

Supertraining is the best book out there nothing is better…

CT and CW and everyone really also really rate Enokas work… Neuromechanics of Human Movement : Enoka

CTs books are excellent too

bompa outlines periodization pretty well… some argue that it is outdated but regardless you definetly need to know about and understand it…

the milo recomendation above is more about the practical side of training, it tells you “how”, rather than educating as to the “why”. some of the explanations are not the best but you wouldnt read that looking for them…

Milo tells you what you would learn from talking to the big guys in the gym… the others tell you would learn from speaking to Russian olympic coaches

in all reality you will need (probably several of) both “how” and “why” books…

milo is just a magazine that can be found at ironmind.com

you should already have the NSCA book if you are studying for CSCS yeah?

Yay western periodization.

HAHAHA

Read as much as you can at the Elite site and DeFranco’s site.
buy and memorize Parisi School dvd’s

Read Dinosaur Training by Brooks Kubik