Increasing My Bench Press

I’ve been doing Rippetoe’s Starting Strength for about 2 1/2 months and have gained 12 pounds so far…but I’m still very weak and it definitely shows in my pathetic main lift numbers.

At this point in my program, 3x5:

Squat - 235 (still gradually increasing, not sure of my 1r.max)

Deadlift - 235 (still gradually increasing, not sure of my 1r.max)

Bench - 125 (stuck at 125, not increasing, don’t know my 1rep max)

My bench has been stuck at 125 for like 3 weeks now, what can I do it increase it? any tips? I work out alone so I’m not always able to get someone to spot me.

Also…my left arm is significantly smaller than my right, I recently started doing left arm seated hammer curls at the end of my workouts…only 1 set of 10 reps…bad idea? good idea? I’d like to know what would be most effective to attempt to even out - or at least somewhat - my left arm with my right.

1. What were your starting numbers to get a better picture.
  2. Which part of your left arm is smaller (bicep, tricep)?

If you have made little gains in the bench press then maybe the volume/intensity is not right for you, change it up. If however your coming off a 30lb increase then you have plateaued in your current setup.

Options:
a. Switch to incline press
b. Switch to dumbbell flat press
c. Get yourself in a rack and push yourself, it is possible you may be going to easy on yourself because you don’t have a spotter. The rack will solve this.

[quote]rp_7 wrote:

Also…my left arm is significantly smaller than my right, I recently started doing left arm seated hammer curls at the end of my workouts…only 1 set of 10 reps…bad idea? good idea? I’d like to know what would be most effective to attempt to even out - or at least somewhat - my left arm with my right.[/quote]

Bad idea

Do only as much work as your weak arm can do, and eventually it will catch up

Also reassess your form to see if it may be contributing to the imbalance