Increasing Chins or Pull Ups at 215+ Body Weight

Does anyone know of people who are over 215 pounds and can do double digit chins/pull ups. I want to increase my chin/pull ups because I have always been weak at it. When I was in high school I could only do a half-rep (that did not count in PE class), because I jumped up for the rep and I was only 140lbs at that time. By the time I graduated, I was 170lbs and could not do any still. I think I read that the poster waylanderxx could do 30 or so at a bodyweight of 275lbs.

Does anyone know how he built that lift up or was he always good at it. I know Matt Kroc (elitefts) can do it easily at 250lbs, but he is an ELITE powerlifter and I am definitely not. Thanks in advance.

I’m at 215 currently and can do 12, but my training consists of lower reps with added weight like 6x4 with a 45 on a dip belt. I was much happier with 1 rep of +100 than any rep # of pullups. But I’m goofy like that.

[quote]lukepropst wrote:
I’m at 215 currently and can do 12, but my training consists of lower reps with added weight like 6x4 with a 45 on a dip belt. I was much happier with 1 rep of +100 than any rep # of pullups. But I’m goofy like that.[/quote]

I will try to add some weighted chins/pull ups, although my max is only 5 reps, so maybe aim for 2-3 reps per set, with a light weight attached. Since I have never come close to doing double digit chins/pull ups at even a light body weight, it is just one of the things I always had in the back of my mind (partly stemming from the many times I would be laughed at in school for doing ZERO reps in PE class).

You are not alone…I wish I could do double digit pull-ups too.

Pull-ups are hard period. There is so much going on in the shoulders and lats that it’s sometimes hard to feel anything but dificulty.

If you are only doing five, keep at it. Try resting 3-4 minutes between sets and give 5 another shot for 2 more sets.