Increase Overhead Axle/Log Press?

ok i could really use some pointers. i’m fairly new to strongman but did powerlifting for two years before so the strength is there. i’m having trouble pushing good weight with my overhead axle and log presses and can’t quite figure out why. i have good arm and leg strength, benching and squatting over 300# for reps in both categories, but can barely max 220# on the overhead axle and 200# on the log. i feel like i should be getting more than these two numbers. i realize there’s a lot of technique in these two lifts and have been trying to find the right one that works for me but i’m not quite there yet. and ive been stuck on this number for about 4 months now, not increasing at all, but on every other exercise imaginable i am. any help/tips would be greatly appreciated!

hows your leg drive?

is your core nice and tight?

do you pull your head threw at the top?

have you tried using O shoes?

i know on the log breathing becomes hard so i try and hold my breath from lap to overhead and i will get light headed. can you breath ok throughout the lifts?

yes to the first 3, haven’t tried the O shoes but this sunday during my axle training im gonna try some steel toe boots that have good thick heels. also planning on tryin a little staggered foot placement before the press for stability bc today i went through the motions with light weight and noticed that as soon as i start to press i fall forward slightly without realizing it. and yea i could concentrate a little more on breathing bc honestly sometimes i forget to time it perfect with the clean. thanks for those suggestions, they definitely help!

Post a video would make a huge difference in what we can offer you in advice.

Whats your training look like?

if you are falling forward it may be that you are leaning to far back and also not getting your head through at the bottom.