T Nation

Incorporating Weights Into My Regime

It's quite busy, but recently i've been wanting to start some strength traninig. Up till now ive just been using bodyweight exercises, so i'm completely new to freeweights.

Here's what my routine looks like on most weeks:

Mon/Wed/Fri - AM
BW exercises mostly chins, pulls, dips and inverted rows usually for a total of 15 sets in a circuit and then cardio using a versaclimber

Tue/Thur - Am
hill sprints

Mon-Fri - PM
Muay thai either classes or an hour on the heavy bag and conditioning (mostly jump rope)

Then I rest on the weekends .

How could I add weight training into this?

I'm thinking of adding a 5x5 dumbell routine in place of most of the calisthenics (would this work well?) I'm not aiming to become bigger, just stronger.

Don't you have TWO YEARS OF HARCORZE TRAINING?!

Have you heard of the new Chamillionaire song called- Trollin? It's great.

what the hell is your problem? If you don't want to help then don't but don't start calling me a 'troll'. I didn't even know what that word meant until I signed up here and got accused of being one.

You could substitute two of the calisthenic workouts for strength training...say lift on Mon and Fri....but still keep bodyweight stuff on Wed. Keep in mind all the other stuff that you are doing....especially with the hill sprints.

Your Muay Thai classes are on Mon and Fri,correct?

SAY WHAT AGAIN SAY WHAT AGAIN!

I posted a reasonable answer before then edited but I just can't understand whey people have that staple in their head that gaining strength won't lead to mass gains. Just me. Anyone with 2 hardcore years of training would know.

Just listened to it . . it's shit mutherfucker!

My muay thai classes are usually monday, wed and fri and heavy bag work tue and thur. I think you're right about substituting the bodyweight exercises.
But was thinking of:

Workout A Workout B
Db Front Squat 5x5 Db Front Squat 5x5
Db Bench Press 5x5 Db Overhead Press 5x5