T Nation

Incline Bench Press Question

Hey everyone,

I’m new here. I’ve been lifting for 5 months, I take it seriously.

My question is, why is it that whenever I do incline bench press, my triceps don’t ‘fire’, it’s my biceps that I feel working, in fact. This confuses me because triceps are pushing, biceps are pulling muscles.

I make sure my form is perfect: neutral grip (standard grip on barbell: not too close, not too wide), when I reach the bottom portion of the rep, my arms are perpendicular to the form, my scapula are retracted as of the beginning of the rep and stay in that exact same position.

My biceps are VERY weak, they are NOT developed.

Could it be that my biceps are very weak, and that’s why I feel them working instead of the triceps, and this problem will go away in time?

[quote]GetBigs wrote:
Hey everyone,

I’m new here. I’ve been lifting for 5 months, I take it seriously.

My question is, why is it that whenever I do incline bench press, my triceps don’t ‘fire’, it’s my biceps that I feel working, in fact. This confuses me because triceps are pushing, biceps are pulling muscles.

I make sure my form is perfect: neutral grip, when I reach the bottom portion of the rep, my arms are perpendicular to the form, my scapula are retracted as of the beginning of the rep and stay in that exact same position.

My biceps are VERY weak, they are NOT developed.

Could it be that my biceps are very weak, and that’s why I feel them working instead of the triceps, and this problem will go away in time?[/quote]

Your biceps play the role of stabilizing the weight in all exercises were the arm is extended. It isn’t really a bad thing necessarily that you feel it and the use of dumbells, which I think you are talking about, increases the stabilization aspect of the lift. Dont worry about it and just get stronger. As far as not feeling your triceps, I would wager that although you may not feel them, they are definitely putting in the work.