In-Season Training for Rugby/Football

Hi CT,

What is your opinion about in-season training for athletes? I started playing rugby this year as a winger. Maybe the subject can be extended to football.

We just finished pre-season training which was very difficult for a starter. I couldn’t go to the gym due to the extreme soreness especially in the feet, ankle and knees. Now we are in-season, and adaptation pain is gone. Training days are Wednesday (with some running/sprint training) and Friday with less intense physical. Games are on Sunday, almost every week.

What I planned to do:
Once or twice a week, Monday or Tuesday and Thursday:

-Circuit training with a heavy barbell: Barbell on blocks, do a high pull, rest the bar on floor, do a power clean, a push press, a front squat, put the bar on the blocks. Repeat 5-6 times
-Squat, heavy like 5*4 with 10s rest between reps
-Some back exercises like barbell row / pull-ups

My goals are: Keeping strength during the season, becoming more powerful, fast and agile. Especially fast, I’m currently very slow for a winger.
I have access to a commercial gym (squat rack, but no prowler, sled, medicine balls ect…), and at home I have some Kb’s, two dumbbells and some bands.

What would be your guidelines?

Thanks.

I play men’s club rugby (D1) and played D1-AA football in college. During the rugby season all I’m trying to do with my strength training is work around injuries and not lose strength or hypertrophy. We practice 2 days/week and play on Saturdays so those are 2 “workouts” right there. In the gym I follow a 2-day split designed to address the aforementioned goals:

Day 1:
Bench Press SS Pullups 5x5
Military Press SS Pullups 5x5
High-Pull SS Face Pulls 5x5/6-8

Day 2:
Barbell Back Squat SS Leg Curl 5x5/6-8
Deadlift SS Walking Lunge 5x5/6-8
Ab Work 5x