T Nation

Improving Form -

Basically, I posted this video a while back: http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=6AxRrvncOu8

Basically, I realised that my progress isn’t great. I started lifting 6 months ago and my lifts should be higher. I just want some input on whether i’m just failing my programme (Basically 3 sets of 5 on my compounds, progressive overload)

Last week I let go of my ego and decreased the weight I am squatting (from 120kg 5x5) to 100kg 3x5, i actually started with 107.5kg 1x5 with the first set and that really wore me out. I then did 100kg 2x5. The difficulty of the exercise from squatting with proper high bar form and depth (below parallel with a real focus on hitting a deep depth) really surprised me. I managed all of the reps, but it was much harder and I felt my muscles being worked a lot more. It is a good investment for my progress, but I just feel like I made big noob mistakes my performing with form like in the video in the link above.

I also addressed my military press form starting from last week. I decreased the weight from 52.5kg to 45kg 3x5. It is much harder, but now i’m not using my back, instead i’m focussing on tightening the core and glutes to stabilise myself. Overall, i am not as disheartened with this lift as I am with the squat.

Other lifts:

Deadlift: 120kg: 1x5: As soon as I improved my squat form, I got past my stall on these. Correlation? There must be.

Bench Press: Should be hitting 67.5kg in my next session, not too displeased with this because i know i just suck at it.

BB rows: 67.5kg : I have been pretty disciplined at these.

Height: 5ft9
Weight: 165 pounds at 18-20% bf , slow bulking at 300 calories above maintenance.