Implementing Oscillatory Training and Olympic Lifts into OCTS

Hi Coach!

I just finished going through the OCTS courses on your website - fantastic resource!
I’ve got two follow-up questions if you’re open to answering (any time is really appreciated)

For context, I work as an S&C coach mostly with basketball and volleyball players at the high school level

1. Oscillatory training

I’ve heard a few coaches discuss using oscillations when developing elastic athletes. Do you have any experiencing implementing these? I know in the course you talk about using double-contraction in accumulation on concentric day, but my gut would say that oscillatory work would be best suited to the explosion or peaking phase on isometric day.

1. Olympic lifts

I’ve seen a lot of your athletes on your IG utilising cleans and snatches within their training. Are these utilised as the “pulling” exercises on the concentric and isometric days? I can’t think of a way to use an eccentric emphasis on these lifts.

Thank you in advance!
Jason

1 Like

Just thought I’d update:

I ended up purchasing the fast twitch training course and spending some more time going through articles on thibarmy.

That course, combined with “optimised power training” ended up answering most of my questions on the system.

Looking forward to getting to know these methods :slight_smile:

1 Like

First, I’m in the process of updating the OCTS course. It honestly only includes a fraction of the methods that I use and doesn’t cover programming enough. My “Theory and Application…” book/ebook covers a bit more (even though it was written more than 15 years ago).

Oscillatory training is something that I do use. I didn’t include it in the original course because my course was only theoretical and oscillatory training is very hard to explain properly without demos. Plus, it’s a very advanced method and I felt that the system already included a lot of complex methods.

Anyway, I use three main oscillatory methods.