T Nation

Imbalanced Ab Muscles: Genetic or Years of Neglect and Bad Habits?

Hey guys,

I have competing for about 3 seasons now and have done about 5 shows. All natural shows, 4 regional where I placed 2ed in each one and my most recent crack at provincial where I places 6th.

I am 28 years old, I have been training none stop since I was 15 years old when I stopped playing high level hockey.

Being natural I totally understand how I need to keep growing year after year for slow and steady improvements and cant expect to walk around year round like open class athletes do.

SEE PHOTO FROM RECENT CONTEST BELOW
being provincial level I decided to bring as much conditioning as I could, I dieted to hard and did way to much cardio this time around and when it came time to fill up, the muscles wouldn’t get full. IMO my last show I was 10lbs heavier on stage, was not as conditioned but was much fuller and bigger. I understand where I went wrong on this prep and will adjust accordingly for the next one.

MY MAIN PROBLEM–

Other then needed more size all over clearly, I find my abdominal area to be very imbalanced. I understand a lot of this area has to do with genetics but hear me out…

When I was playing hockey before I started lifting, I had a ripped 6 pack with full 6 popping right out at all times. As I gave up competitive hockey and switched to bodybuilding it seemed as if my composition has changed. I have 4 visible abs even around 10-14% BF and when I diet down as seen below, I still only have the 4 somewhat visible abs and my entire area below be 4 pack to navel region seems as though its very underdeveloped. I find my squats SUCK, and I am always hunched over as its most comfy, even when sitting my ass is slightly forward caving my lower lumber spine. When I diet down to sub 5% I find the small bit of skin around my belly button never disappears, I was never over weight and never understood why I have loose skin there.