I'm Thinking About Using Straps

I’ve never used them before but I’m starting to consider it because I would be able to do more on my deadlifts if I didn’t have to grip all that weight as much and I wouldn’t mind doing direct forearm work.

What do you guys think?

I used to be real anti-strap until recently.

As far as bodybuilding purposes, I’d rather be able to concentrate on the muscles being worked instead of worrying about my grip failing.

If you are after complete development, then you’ll likely need to do some direct forearm work anyway.

Most of the time, I won’t use straps for the first few sets when my grip is strong and as I tire out, I’ll use straps for my remaining sets.

[quote]AngryVader wrote:
I used to be real anti-strap until recently.

As far as bodybuilding purposes, I’d rather be able to concentrate on the muscles being worked instead of worrying about my grip failing.

If you are after complete development, then you’ll likely need to do some direct forearm work anyway.

Most of the time, I won’t use straps for the first few sets when my grip is strong and as I tire out, I’ll use straps for my remaining sets.[/quote]

Nice post.

Do you think I could find some at like Sports Authority or something?

Any sporting goods store will have basic straps, but in my opinion, the best straps available are from APT.

www.prowriststraps.com

You can also get them here:

http://www.elitefts.com/

Straps are just another way to vary your training. I haven’t met a serious lifter that doesn’t use them at least some of the time.

Obviously the more important your grip is to your goals the more you have to include dedicated heavy training without straps.

Some exercises become “Grip” exercises if you don’t use straps.