I'm Still a Scrub..Need a Program

6’ @ 165lbs and I’ve been doing this program for roughly 6 months but I still consider myself a newb/noob.

I packed on 25 pounds in those 6 months but the past month I had oral surgeries, been sick, and just haven’t been on my usual 3x/week routine. Now I’m back at it again. Although I just have a few questions…and sorry if this is the wrong spot for it. Genetically, I’m not built for upper body strength. My bench is horrendous, as well as my press. Doesn’t help that improper power clean technique has screwed up my shoulder so I had to stop doing the power clean. I’ve had to back track on those two a number of times and I always seem to plateau at the exact same spot. So I ask myself, do I need to keep repeating with these weights until I’m comfortable to move on to another 2-5 pounds? Do I need to change up the exercises I’m doing? Diet and rest I believe are not an issue. I get 5 meals a day with at least 600cals per meal, with 40-60 grams of protein and sometimes snacks inbetween. At least 8 hours of sleep per night as well.

I’m just stuck and frustrated! How can I overcome my upper body plateau!?

Problems with beginners can be solved by addressing one of the following:

1. Consistency
  2. Intensity
  3. Calorie intake
  4. Rest (least likely)

Sounds like your consistency has been off lately and I am betting you’re not eating enough. As for rest and intensity you can be your own judge and jury.

If you have a smartphone, download Fitness Pal, it sounds gay but it’s free and counts your calories,carbs,protein,fat etc etc. I thought I was eating alot more than what I thought until I got it.

Go check my log for my workout. It is what I have done for just over a year and month. I have gone from 160 to 214, down to 194, and back up to 213 in that time period. Do that, and eat. You may gain a little bodyfat in the process, but if you’re lifting hard enough it will be minimal.