I'm Quitting Tomorrow.

Tomorrow I’m putting in my two weeks at my job. I work as a valet at a luxury hotel. The money has been amazing and it’s what has held me back from leaving earlier. I asked to move from full time to part time so I could work at the local airport and focus on my flight lessons. I told them they could have two weeks to make the change. My boss said it was no problem, we could schedule around it sooner.

That was two months ago. He scheduled me for 4 or 5 days per week every week, when he knows I work 2 days at the airport. I’ve decided I’m too young to be selling my soul for tips.

I’m going to work at the airport 3 days week and take as many flight lessons as I can. In June, I’ll start working at a summer day camp. I’ll be doing the hike leading, ropes course, and rock climbing. In the fall, I’ll start advanced flight training or the local junior college. I’m just passing this on because I’m rather excited.

Congratulations, I can see you won’t regret it.

Why bother with the 2wks? Just leave now.

I’ve done that before, thought it was the noble thing to do and in hindsight realised that if I hated the job, I should’ve just walked out the door.

But you’re making the right choice and you’re gonna do well with the lessons. Keep it up!

Congratulations on your decision! All the best :slight_smile:

[quote]Sxio wrote:

I’ve done that before, thought it was the noble thing to do and in hindsight realised that if I hated the job, I should’ve just walked out the door.

But you’re making the right choice and you’re gonna do well with the lessons. Keep it up![/quote]

because you don’t want to burn any reference bridges, especially if you are just starting out as it sounds like this guy is. he may need the reference for his next job and walking out won’t bring a good report.

I am thinking you are a good kid with a good plan and good intentions - best of luck.