T Nation

I'm Looking for a Job... Tips?

I just came back from overseas and I made the mistake of not lining up a job in the States before I left. Trouble is, I’ve always hated getting a job. For me, getting a job is a lot like dating. You go out there and expose yourself to be judged, you get ignored a few times, and then you end up getting a job but regardless of what you get you feel like you’re settling for something that is not up to your full potential. I have a college degree, and all, but nothing that makes me feel like I really stand out.

So, do people have any tips about getting a job? Every job that I’ve gotten has pretty much fallen into my lap or been tossed my way by a friend.

P.S. If you live in the Omaha area, and you have a good paying job that you’re looking to have filled by a driven young man who is smarter and more well rounded than his Bachelor’s in Psychology suggests, feel free to PM me and I would be happy to take it.

[quote]Fiction wrote:
I just came back from overseas and I made the mistake of not lining up a job in the States before I left. Trouble is, I’ve always hated getting a job. For me, getting a job is a lot like dating. You go out there and expose yourself to be judged, you get ignored a few times, and then you end up getting a job but regardless of what you get you feel like you’re settling for something that is not up to your full potential. I have a college degree, and all, but nothing that makes me feel like I really stand out.

So, do people have any tips about getting a job? Every job that I’ve gotten has pretty much fallen into my lap or been tossed my way by a friend.

P.S. If you live in the Omaha area, and you have a good paying job that you’re looking to have filled by a driven young man who is smarter and more well rounded than his Bachelor’s in Psychology suggests, feel free to PM me and I would be happy to take it.[/quote]

your problem is you have a psych degree :slight_smile:

consider teaching HS psych?