T Nation

I'm Completely New to This Stuff

im completely new to this whole working out thing so i have some questions that might seem dumb to you all. but im looking for any help that i can get. so please be patient with me. i am a doctor (not gonna tell you what kind) and im a really fast learner.

so here is a little of what im trying to get out of some things that i have thought about doing. anyones advice is greatly appreciated and will be given the utmost consideration in that i believe in learning from those who are experienced and also learning from others mistakes so i dont have to re-create them.

im 33 yo, 6' 0", 200lbs and in decent shape considering that i really havent done any exercising in about 2 yrs. i played semi-professional soccer for a few yrs but decided to stop to prevent a knee injury from getting worse. i love to run, it is almost addicting to me. but i havent been running consistently for the past two yrs due to the knee injury.

as for working out in a gym, well i had a membership for about 3 yrs and managed to make it in there about 2 times, and only once to actually work out. i just love being outside. i do have the bowflex revolution that i do plan on using. i have read through many of the forums here and have found a lot of interesting information. all of this information has led me to write this.

my ideal weight is about 180, give or take 5 lbs. and from what i have read throughout these forums i guess that im looking to head in the opposite direction of just about everyone in here. my knee is bad enough that i may not play contact sports anymore, but not bad enough that i cant jog/run, ride or swim. i also snowboard a great deal and want to keep the knee in shape to continue to do that. i am also considering doing a triatholon in the future.