I'm Broke - Single Most Important Supplement?

I am currently a grad student getting my doctorate in Psychology, meaning I’m totally broke (in debt) and likely will be for a significant amount of time. There are some pros to this: I don’t have the money/time to go out for food and drinks, I get a free gym membership at my school and there is plenty of motivation in the form of attractive girls in my program.

However, the obvious negative is that by necessity I’m “balling on a budget”. My diet consists of a lot of canned tuna/chicken, eggs, oats and peanut butter. That being said, if I could only choose one supplement to enhance my gains, what would you guys suggest? Obviously I’d like it to not be too expensive, but I would live if I spent a little $. The research I’ve done seems to suggest fish oil or creatine, but I wanted to get a bunch of opinions. Thanks!!

More food.

9 Likes

If you are able to afford and consume enough protein in a day through whole foods (i.e. without needing to supplement for whey), then I guess creatine, but you can get a year supply of that for like $15.

When I’ve had to live on my tightest budget, I think whey still came out to be the most important supp for me. If anything, having whey saved me some money. Cost of poultry is dependent on where you live, but for me, a generous scoop of whey was more cost-efficient than a couple of chicken breasts or cans of tuna.

Obviously still get as much of your protein through whole foods as you can, but if you have 40-50 g of whey a day that can end up saving you some money. Another supplement to look into that can actually save you money would be dextrose. It’s not the ideal carb source, but it is simple, works, and is cheap as heck. Again, whole foods are preferable, but if you are on that tight of a budget, the use of whey and dextrose can help you save $$, have decent peri/post workout nutrition, and still meet your macros.