T Nation

I'm Always Tired

it seems since i started lifting seriously and gaining weight almost a year ago, i have become extremely tired all the time. sleeping less than 8 hours means i am definitely dozing off in class and for most of the rest of the day. sleeping for 8-10 hours means i have a hard time waking up and a hard time not wanting to go take a nap all day long.

It’s spring break right now, i’m taking the week off from lifting, and the past 4 days straight i’ve slept 9-10 hours each night, done NOTHING during the daytime but sit around and check things out at T-Nation or other sites, and am constantly tired. as well, just now i went to go take a nap and fell deep asleep in a matter of a couple minutes, woke up like 2 hours later just cuz i was being called at to wake up, and it was near impossible getting me up.

i’ve felt like this for a long time, and anytime i do anything, i’m wanting to take a long nap right after. when i was thinner (5’10" 140-155), I never had this problem. In fact, it was the opposite, i was always alert and ready to move and almost had a hard time sleeping sometimes. now that i’m not even that much heavier (5’10" 180), it seems i’m dead tired 24/7, and my legs are even more tired all the time. what gives?

Possibly poor circulation? I don’t really know, you should see a doctor. Internet diagnoses aren’t always the best idea.

Lifting is obviously very hard on your body, and thus it craves more macro and micro nutrients. Have you tried supplementing with a B complex, or ZMAs? I’ve had a similar situation before, but by increasing my vegatable intake, alongside a better supplement stack, such as what I listed above, I’m no longer as tired. In fact I’ve never felt better.

Eat more. (It worked for me)

Are you hydrating properly?
Are you giving your CNS proper recovery?
Is your diet clean?
Have you been avoiding cardio while bulking?

1 Like

dude… try a ‘greens’ supplement. and drink more (water)…