T Nation

I'm a Total Beginner

Hello all. I finally became fed up with my body and joined the gym about 2 weeks ago. I have been to a gym before but only off and on for a few months. So I am pretty much a total beginner. I worked my legs out for the first time last week and found out just how pathetic a state I am in lol.

I'm about 6'2 and 180lbs. My legs are extremely weak and obviously I'm quite weak overall. I'm just looking for some advice, criticism. Looking for a program to stick to, so any recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

There are stickies in this forum and a decent enough search feature to get you started. I suggest you go that route!

eat. read. lift. Do those three things and something good will happen.

IMO the best beginners program around. Either use the site or actually buy the book. Very good at getting your squat kg's up. Very good for learning all the basic lifts and getting a base level of all-round strength.
Time proven and mostly well liked.

Oh and congrats on deciding to join a gym!

Here's a few little pieces of advice-

Never ever curl in a squat rack.
Don't wear sleeveless shirts in the gym.
Don't flex infront of the mirror after every set.
Work on the big compound movements hard, all the time. No matter what program you're on it should include a squat variation, a deadlift variation and a bench variation. (Although at the moment I don't bench, but that's shoulder issue related.)
Don't worry about your hawt six pack abz.
Worry about your squat/dl numbers more than your bicep inches.
Learn to eat big, gain size.
Take tumbles advice and get searching on this site!

Hope this helps