T Nation

I'm a FNG Asking Questions

Hi all!

I’m new to fitness and new to the website. T-Nation was the first on a very short list of recommendations given to me by one of the trainers at my gym.

I used to exercise a lot in the Army, and found Power Lifting through a friend. That was an easier time in life. Eat everything in sight, take too much of the latest and greatest protein powder on the market at the time, and pop Testosterone boosters with Estrogen Blockers. I got strong in a hurry!

Then, it all went away even faster than I gained it.

That was 2010. I’m 29 years old now and I swear, just thinking about a calorie makes me gain 5 pounds!

I’ve been working out since February. Focus is 100% fat burn. I don’t care if I gain muscle, lose some, or stay the same. I am trying to burn fat faster than humanly possible. I hit the gym 6 days per week, taking Sundays off.

I’ve already gone from 255 down around 210. My initial goal has been to hit 200lbs, and reevaluate from there. But, the more weight I lose, the more I seem to plateau, which is driving me nuts.

I looked into that Ketogenic diet, and based on what little I could understand, people have died on it. I’m the type of idiot who would end up doing exactly that. I approach everything in life at 100% Wide Open Throttle, or not at all. My philosophy has always been: Wide Open Throttle until you see God, then tap the brake pedal. If you ain’t gonna bring everything you got, then why are you even bothering with it?
That being said, I think I do pretty good with my workouts. For the most part anyways. Some days definitely require a mild Pre while other days just can’t be saved. But I still get my fat ass into the gym whether I want to or not because I feel that a lousy, half-hearted attempt is better than not going at all. Yes, I see the self-contradicting statements.

Questions for anybody who knows what they’re talking about: