I'm a Better Squatter Without a Belt

Ok, I’m 19 I’ve been training for 2 years and I train DoggCrapp style, I’ve been progressing very well on my squat and managed to buy a nice genuine lever belt, the same width all around…

So I can use this belt for Deadlifting and OHP’s but I’m a very weak squatter with it, I’m not sure if there is a certain place to put it but I feel as though I broke it in, I’d roll it everyday and wrap it in my bands so I don’t think that is the problem…

When I use the belt I struggle hitting 140kg/315lb for 1 rep…

When I don’t use a belt I can squat 162.5kg/358lb for 10 reps…

The reason I worry for this I may enter a meet sometime this year as I think my numbers are ok… I haven’t done 1RM’s in a while and subconciously beleive I should wear a belt in a 1rm squat.

I also have a physique photo in my newest log so it may be my proportions I’m 5ft 8" if that helps and I must squat fairly wide compared to others to hit paralell.

Thanks.

If you just bought the belt, it’s not broken in yet. Give it time.

3 Likes

I seen kids hit big weight without a belt at the last meet I was in. Yury Belkin lifts Beltless (I think Squat too, def seen him sumo beltless).

If you’re doing better without a belt, maybe you just don’t need it.

1 Like

those proportions have nothing to do with you not knowing how to use a belt. Your brain is the reason you don’t know how to use a belt.

Have you ever seen a world record squat without a belt? Do you know of ANY world class squatters who don’t wear a belt for competition?

You gotta figure this out if you want to compete, don’t resign yourself to not using one just because you haven’t figured it out yet.

That being said, if you want specific technique advice, you’re gonna have to post videos. I’d love to see this ‘358x10 beltless squat’, along with the ‘315 struggle with a belt’. Quite frankly, I don’t believe the difference is that substantial. At the very least, I’ll need to see it to believe it.

6 Likes