I'm a Beginner... I Think

I used to work out thought my whole high school years and like 2 more years after i graduated but really didnt know what i was doing and made little progress. During the first 2 years or so i hit a plateau do to my ignorance, and since my mentality at the time was “the harder you train the more results you’ll get” i was expecting to get huge.

Soon after i was under the influence of massive depression and other social problems which were affected even more by this plateau. So after like 7 yrs of frustration i decided to stop working out (around October/November 05. Now 2 yrs later i decided to start again (september 28/07) and w/ a little more knowledge do to the fact that i’ve been reading alittle.

Now, my question are…1)When i change the training split after 5-6 weeks do i have to choose completely new exercises for each body part?

How often can i perform advance techniques like drop sets, rest pause etc.? 3) Do i stick w/ the same exact exercise for 5-6 weeks or are variations of the same exercise needed? 4) When i’m done with the 5-6 week routine do i start the new one using light weight and less reps?

Sorry for these questions, i just cant find the answers and some of the articles ive read are too complex too clearly understand since i really never new how to work out properly. One more thing, am i considered a bigginer?

[quote]Damner wrote:

Now, my question are…1)When i change the training split after 5-6 weeks do i have to choose completely new exercises for each body part?

How often can i perform advance techniques like drop sets, rest pause etc.? 3) Do i stick w/ the same exact exercise for 5-6 weeks or are variations of the same exercise needed? 4) When i’m done with the 5-6 week routine do i start the new one using light weight and less reps?