I'm a 138lb Noob ...

Hello T-Nation,

I want to get big(ger). I’m 22, and 138lbs. Yes, I know. A long, long way to go. The reasons why I’m at this weight are numerous and I’m sure you’ve heard all the excuses.

I have a few questions to ask, since I’ve joined a “gym” If anyone could help I’d be grateful. I might add that I’ve done 100s of hours more reading than working out, which was just a way of avoiding the work.

I’ve hit a sea of motivation however, and at least I’ve started. The fact that I’ve put on 10lbs in the last 18 months has … well its kind of showed me that I can do something about my weight.

My questions:

a) Its a scary feeling walking into the weights room, with at least 10 guys there, most of them very big. Even the ones that aren’t, pack a good 20-30lbs on me and don’t look to big.

Its a bit gutting to realise that I’m a long, long way off this. I imagine not many of you are at my weight, but if any of you have goals which are very far from where you currently are, how do you motivate yourself?

b) I feel like a bit of a dick using some of the weights and the benches whilst these big, lean, in shape dudes stand there and look decidedly displeased at the fact that some scrawny fucker is wasting their valuable time.

To all the big guys out there, what are your experiences with this? If you see a very skinny guy doing weights, trying to get bigger, do you chuckle to yourself, do you pity him, or are you happy that they’re also striving for goals?

Its kind of gutting that I’m not at a proper gym but rather a fitness center. They don’t have a barbell, but merely a smith machine. I want to get stronger also, but I know I’m missing out on the deadlift, and I’m reticent about beginning squatting on a smith machine as I’ve heard from time to time that its not ideal, especially for a beginner. Any alternatives? Any truth in this?