I'll Never Do TBT Again

I had been using different forms of it for the last 3 years, and I’ve made OKAY gains. I could never wrap my mind around “doing the same workouts bodybuilders do”, because my main focus is my athletic career. I compete in Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu (and occasionally fight MMA) full time. With morning class (open mat) going from 12-2 then going back to help teach kids class from 5-6, then my own training again from 6-9, it’s safe to say I’m busy and I work my body to it’s limit daily, training 6 hours a day (skill work only) or more.

This is not a “look how awesome I am” rant. I’ve tried different programs in hopes of getting significantly stronger to gain whatever advantage I could, and TBT always seemed the best option for my tight schedule, and knowing that I wouldn’t have much recovery capacity left for lifting as it is (BJJ comes first). I finally gave a body part split a try (shoulders/legs, back/bis, chest/tris, 6 days a week) and I’m LOVING it. In the last 2 weeks, I’ve seen the gains come like when I first discovered weight training.

I’m actually spending significantly more time in the gym than before, (more days, sessions about the same length) yet still recovering better than I ever have. My only “issue” if you will, is gaining too much muscle. You see, this form of working out has drastically increased my appetite, and I’m putting on muscle, which means going up in weight. I feel as though I need this amount of food and total calories to recover from all that I’m doing.