If You Lose Your Big Toe How Will This Affect Weightlifting?

The thought of it seems horrifying because your big toe is crucial to balance & stability.

I can’t imagine doing deadlifts or squats without a big toe. But most benchwork should be largely unaffected.

What do you all think & have you or anyone you know been through anything similar?

1 Like

I think your body will adapt. I’m not saying it would be easy, but possible. There are people out there lifting missing much more than a toe.

3 Likes

Doug Hepburn managed to be insanely big and strong with a club foot.

1 Like

The bigger question: What caused the loss of your toe?

I still have my big toes, so I’m not speaking from personal experience, but I can’t imagine it would make a noticable difference. Your weight shouldn’t be on your toes during those movements anyway.

This is a fascinating question here. Feet are so important that it is a great question. I studied the anatomy of the foot in great depth with my mentor Thomas Greiner, Ph.D., so it piques my interest! SO sorry for “geeking out” here.

In short, the foot acts like a tripod with three interlinking arches/bridges between the points, interlinking 35 joints in each foot. Those points are:

1. Heel
  2. Base of the 5th/Pinky Toe
  3. Base of the 1st/Big Toe

Leonardo Da Vinci said of the foot that it is a masterpiece of art and engineering. And truly, IT IS. It takes gravity (your body weight and what you are trying to lift) into the ground, then delivers the energy from the ground into your body so you can squat or even lift your coffee cup in the morning. So, the form, structure, and function of each of the joints of the foot say how efficient or not you are in making movement when upright.

Okay, so geek moment over…