T Nation

If You Looked Like Me....

I know this is a strange post, and I took it to the beginner's forum because i know what happens when you post something like this in any other, haha.

Here is the deal, i have been doing mainly cardio and light weights for 3 months, since January 2009 when i weighed 292 pounds, now i am down to 239 and I want to look good and be fit for summer.

If you were me, and looked like i do now, what would you do/how much would you eat to get into a muscular/ripped body by say...July?

Start lifting heavy and throw in some HIIT in the mornings? Maybe carb cycle? I am just completely lost as i dont really want to gain any of my fat back, i already have enough haha.

Here i am at 239.

If I looked like you…I would do this:

Hope someone else helps you with nutrition…By the way, very funny post!

Well done buddy.
Good progress.
I’d suggest a basic weight training program and maybe cut down on the cardio a little. Your fat wont come back on if your diet is good.

By cut back on the cardio, do you mean, like instead of 20-30 minutes M-F maybe do sprint style or HIIT on every other day?

Nice job so far!

These articles should be helpful.

Refined Physique Transformation

Destroying Fat
War Room Strategies to Maximize Fat Loss

[quote]Damron1474 wrote:
By cut back on the cardio, do you mean, like instead of 20-30 minutes M-F maybe do sprint style or HIIT on every other day?[/quote]

in a Waterbury “get lean” phase, he recommends HIIT 3/w following each weight routine. i did this and it was a good balance of muscle and fitness.

i followed that complex link and it sounded pretty damn good. fun as hell! and if you followed it 3x/w, i doubt you would be doing much HIIT afterwards since it is so metabolic. maybe some jump rope before and after is what i would do.