If you had a choice....

Ok guys heres the situation: lets say you haven’t eaten in a while and the only source of food would be a protien bar whos number one source of protien comes from soy protien isolate, with caesin and whey as afterthoughts in the protien blend. Would it be better to eat that or wait a few more hours or whatever to get a meal, shake, etc.?

eat it.

gee you may grow big boobs and want to decorate your house. are you for real?

Although I try to avoid soy products as much as possible, I don’t think a small, occasional amount is going to be a big deal. Eat a soy bar every day? Noway! Eat a soy bar once in a blue moon to keep from becoming catabloic? I probably would. In fact, I’ve probably ate worse things whem really really hungary. I avoid soy but don’t get to obsessive about it to the point of completely avoiding eating.

I think soy is like anything else, use it moderation and it won’t hurt you. I’m Asian so i have been eating it for 34 years and it has’nt hurt me.

thats a good question. I’d say go for it though. You have to weigh out your options. Neither way is optimal. Which is worse though. The negative estrogen effect of the soy or the catabolic effect of not eating? I’d say, not eating would do more damage. How about this situation though. You are faced with the same dilemma, but all you have is some sort of carby carb low/no protein meal. Then would you wait a few more hours for the good stuff even though it is time to eat then, or would you eat the way the “normal” people eat?