Ideal Program or Methodology While on a Reasonable Caloric Deficit?

Hi Coach

Love your work.

I’m fairly new to lifting but want to use it for a) strength and b) general fat loss - as in losing up to 20% bodyfat. I’ve done the whole 1500 cal, extended cardio thing previously and, as you know, it doesn’t work long term.

Most of your programs or methodologies I’ve looked in to so far are directed to be done on a caloric surplus.

What would be your best program to date to maintain or slowly increase strength and lose fat at a reasonable rate. I.e. if I was cutting 500-750 cal per day below maintenance.

Not looking for a detailed answer. Just a couple of answers if possible.

Thanks in advance

Athlete Lean, Athlete Strong comes to mind. CT also has an article on fat loss principles in general..

Furlus, that might be a bit much on a 750 caloric deficit and works mostly if the goal is fat loss and performance oriented. If his goal is muscle mass improvements while getting lean the best approach is very low volume, very high frequency.

Training either the whole body 4-5 days a week or using an upper/lower split 6 days a week.

30-45 min sessions tops.

Maximum of 5 total exercises in one session (ideally 4)

1 easy preparation set, 1 hard but not all out set, 1 all-out set or set using a method like cluster, drop sets, rest/pause, muscle rounds, etc.

Interesting CT, could you elaborate on this?

When you say 4 movements are they are big lifts or 2 big, 2 isolation?

I would have thought going all out on big lifts everyday would eat up the CNS? Especially on a deficit.

Why is this method better for this goal than four hard days lifting (is it because these splits have more volume per session and thus are better for growth?)

Thanks CT