T Nation

Idea on Workout and Reps

Hey I'm a beginner just really starting out previously done a little starting strength but not much else. Searching the internet I obviously found so many contradicting articles which makes it rather confusing. However I've come up with a simple programme which I would like to follow from little bits that I have heard from a bunch of people and articles. I'm thinking of doing Monday, Wednesday and Friday full body focusing on main lifts. I want to limit my lifts to just 3 exercises per workout. The exercises I want to stick too are:

high Pulls
Push press
Clean press
power cleans
squats
front squats
deadlifts
Bench press
Military press
Rows
Pull up
Incline Bench

A Sample workout week for me would be something like:

Monday: Front Squats, Bench Press and High Pulls.

Wednesday: Squats, Power Cleans and Push Press.

Friday: Dead lifts, Incline Bench and Clean and Press.

That's just an example. I haven't quite figured out what exactly I would do yet but I'm just looking for a little guidance really. Another idea that I want to do and try would be doing around 7/8 sets of 3 reps increasing the weight each time, starting at a weight I know I can do and say adding 2.5 KG/5 pounds each set until failure or a rep just before failure. I would be interested in your thoughts of if I should push to failure cause I am still a little confused on the subject. I whey around 135 pounds and around 5'10 in hight. for my diet I'm looking to consume at least 3000 calories a day but not much more over 4000 unless other wise stated. just really looking for some feedback on what you guys think of this idea. Be as critikle as you like, obviously I only posted to learn more.

Kind Regards

A large majority of the lifts you indicated are technical. Do you have form knowledge and experience with all those lifts?