ICF 531 Hybrid Program

Looking for insight to my next training cycle. Currently wrapping up a wendler progam from forever called prep and fat loss. I am going to try and gain some actual size and strength in 2020. I love 531 and it’s principles. However in the past i gained my most size from a beginner program Ice Cream Fitness. I am still a beginner but I cant stand linear progression every day on all the beginner programs. It eventually kills my drive to go lift and grind a 5rm each day. I was going to run ICF but instead of a normal 5x5 replace it with 5x531 for the big 4. I would also put front squat on workout B day. I also have grown to love supersetting work so i would superset antagonistic movements to save time. And use giant sets for assistance on workout A.

Any concerns with this approach? Any improvements?

Workout A
Squat 5x531
Bench 5x531 Superset with Pendlay Row 5x5

Giant set
Shrugs 3x8
Tricep 3x8
Bicep 3x8

SSB Goodmorning 2x10
Core 3x10

Workout B
Deadlift 5sPRO
Front Squat 5x5
OHP 5x531 Superset Weighted Pullup 5x5
Weighted Dip 3x8 Superset Curl 3x8
Core 3x10

If you’d rather go with Blahahaha than Wendler that’s just dandy.

Of course it should be noted that Wendler is/was a powerlifter/coach of great renown and Blaha haha is the world’s most secret and deadly mercenary, so it depends on your goals.

2 Likes

In all seriousness just stick with 5/3/1 since you have at least one of his books…

1 Like

No, that is not an improvement to any 531 program, and would be a disaster IMO. You’re falling for the typical beginner’s trap: this program (developed by someone who knows what they’re doing) would be better if I could add X, Y and Z to it. Run Krypteia from the Forever book, which is a natural progression from the Prep and Fat Loss. Do fewer things and do them well, don’t tack on lots of extra stuff.

1 Like

Just a heads up to the OP… your going to find a that large % on here might not hold ICF or its creator in very high regards.