T Nation

Ibuprofen vs. Fish Oil?

A doctor has recommened a friend take ibuprofen as an anti-inflamatory. I told him about fish oils. Any T-docs out there who could weigh in with an educated opinion on this? Also would there be an additive effect if you combined the two? The doc recommned 400 mgs.

Ibuprofen is generally not recommended for long term use (more than 10 days). It is metabolized in the liver and long term use can be kind of tough on it.

I’m not a doctor. (nor have I played one on TV) What is the cause of your friend needing to use ibuprofen? If it’s something that needs immediate relief and is temporary then go with the ibuprofen. But in either case fish oil is the way to go in the long run because of it’s accumulative effects.

[quote]blueknight wrote:
…But in either case fish oil is the way to go in the long run because of it’s accumulative effects.[/quote]

Agreed.

Fish oil isn’t something you “feel” working the next day, it’s effect builds up over time (weeks to months), whereas Ibuprofen is more a of temporary quick relief.

[quote]blueknight wrote:
I’m not a doctor. (nor have I played one on TV) What is the cause of your friend needing to use ibuprofen? If it’s something that needs immediate relief and is temporary then go with the ibuprofen. But in either case fish oil is the way to go in the long run because of it’s accumulative effects.[/quote]

He was having some shoulder pain. The doc recommended 400 mgs. of Ibuprfen. I am having some pain in my knee. He told me what the doc told him and said give it a try. I told him I was already taking fish oilsa(which are anti-inflaatory) so I didn’t see the point.

The doc said he could take it for a long period of time - much like taking an asprin to help combat a heartattack. I am skeptical of this advice but didn’t have any evidence to support my intuition. This is why I’m asking for some input on this forum.

[quote]Zeppelin795 wrote: