T Nation

Ian King workout and food

OK - I’ve been working through Ian King’s Book Of Muscle Intermediate workout for 6 weeks, and I’m about to hit the first hypertrophy phase. And I’ve got questions about my diet.

I’ve been cutting for the last 6 months, and have gotten down to around 17-18% bf (according to mybodycomp.com, no calipers, just tape measurements of different body parts). I’m taking a rest week next week, between weeks 6 and 7, and right now I’m trying to figure out what sort of nutritional plan I should be looking at.

I know that I can’t try to lose weight and build muscle at the same time. But I don’t want to pass up what looks like an awesome hypertrophy phase either. My problem lies in my bf% - it’s too high to start a good bulk, but if I keep eating at the deficit I’m at right now, I won’t get much in the way of gains from phase 2.

I currently weigh 206lbs (6ft tall), with an approx bf of 17-18% (although a lot of people seem to question the mybodycomp.com results, and I have a feeling my bf is lower). My current diet breaks down to about 40p/20c/40f, at about 2700-2800 cals a day. On friday’s I increase my cals to about 3200-3300 (maintenance level, all clean calories), and the ratio moves closer to 33/33/33.

My thought is that I could alternate eating maintenance on rest days and cutting on workout days, with my carb percentage higher on work days to give my muscles energy - this way I’m still technically in a cutting mode, but it’s a lot more gradual, and maybe I get to take more advantage of the hypertrophy phase. But I don’t know if that thinking is valid.

My big guestion at the end of a long post - Should I keep cutting like I have been, follow the plan I outlined above, or try something completely different? I have a week to design something, so I’m willing to hear any ideas and advice. If anyone needs a guinea pig to try out a new idea, I’m willing to give it a listen .