T Nation

I Need Guidance, Bad...

22 years old, male, 5’9, 16%+ BF, 177lbs (down from 270), skinnyfat still
Goal: Hypertrophy, I want to put on some size to see if it will fill out my frame better
Maxes:
Bench-230
Squat-265
Deadlift-367.5

My story:
18 years old I weighed in a 270, finally decided it wasn’t my genetics and I was just fat as fuck cause I did nothing and ate crap all day. I started doing lots of cardio at first and dropped weight quick, then I found some stuff on bodybuilding and started lifting…though, not dedicated.

Fast forward 4 years and I am 175, which is nice…pretty much 100 lbs down, but my body has not changed in almost 2 years now. I have never really commited to a bulk, use to any time I would the scale moved 5 lbs and I got freaked out and stopped eating as many calories. I have done SS and lots of other programs, but usually I don’t see any progress and I will quit 8-12 weeks later…this cycle ends today. I have been lifting weights for 4 years now and you probably wouldn’t even be able to tell.

I come to this forum seeking help, I need to gain weight. I want more mass to fill out my frame. I am skinnyfat and I hate it. I do not care about abs, I want to grow.

Diet:
I am in the military, and I currently eat mostly out of the dfac. Counting calories is not an option atm, and with going to the field and relying on MREs eating clean is not always an option. That being said here is what I am looking at currently as my meals. I do think I am eating more now and may be able to make gains on it. If not, I will go back for seconds.

Training:
First off I will admit I am lost, there are so many programs, templates, and set/rep schemes to choose from that it is giving me a head ache. I have been recommended DC Training, Big Boy Basics, Madcows 5x5, Layne Norton’s hypertrophy program, HST, 5/3/1, TUT routines, High volume, low volume…I am drowning in a sea of information.