I need advice for starting out a program for mass gain

I’m a 5’10, 161 lbs. male, good shape, a little bit of fat around my abs when I sit down, pretty decent muscle tone, and I have been lifting for about two years. I never actually had much of a plan before, I mostly did about 4 sets of 10 reps for every muscle I worked. Now, however, I want to start a program for mass gains (I want to bulk up because next year I want to join the rugby team at my school). Heres what I worked out as of yet:

MF:
Bench Press
Military Press
Shoulder Shrugs
Bicep Curls

W Su:
Squats
Stiff-Legged Dead Lifts
Calf Raises
(any suggestions, please step in)

My main concern, however, is that I’m not really sure how many sets and reps I should do. I found this one guide that said something along these lines:

(For example, for Bench Press)
5 Warm up sets:
1st- 20 Reps of 20% of what I plan on lifting
2nd - 10-12 Reps of 30%
3rd - 6-8 Reps of 60%
4th - 3-5 reps of 80%
5th - 1 Rep of 90-95%
2-3 Work Sets:
1st - 5-6 Reps of the amount I plan on lifting (120 lbs)
2nd - Same
3rd - Same

I use that for Bench Press, Dead Lifts, Squats, and Military. For bicep, tricep, shrugs, and calf-raises, I do your normal 3-4 sets of 10-12.

I believe this is a good program, however, I figured that it would be best to get another’s opinion concerning mass gaining workouts. If anyone has any suggestion for anything, please, I’m all ears.

Thank you

This will answer all of your questions. If you have any further questions ask them here but I’m sure this will answer all of them Strength Training, Bodybuilding & Online Supplement Store - T NATION .

Your choice of exercises isn’t bad but you did forget pullups or chins for back. You might want to look into a 5X5 or HST program or anything by Chad Waterbury. Try the search engine for articles. Work each bodypart a minimum of twice per week and eat big and clean.

Here’s a great program put together by Goldberg on a different forum:

"Monday