T Nation

I Need a Workout Make Over!

First, some back ground: I'm a 23 yr old female, and I've been plunking around with my own workouts now for roughly 10 years. Recently I've gotten married, graduated, and switched from an active job to a desk job (which translates into - eating more, moving around less). My workout over the past 8 to 10 months has consisted of 3 hours of aerobic per week (walk/jogging, ellipticals, classes, etc.) and 2 hours of muscle toning per week (free weights, weight machines, pilates, etc.).

This is the most time I have ever dedicated to working out, and the most intensity I have put into my workouts (although I'm sure I could add more), yet I am STILL gaining weight! I have gained roughly 10-15 lbs in the past year and a half. So, I have decided to change my diet.

Now, the question: I have done my research and it appears that the Body for Life diet is more of a "health" plan than a "diet" plan. I like that. I want something that I can stick with b/c I like to snack, and have an overwhelming sweet tooth. But, I've read some poor reviews as well, especially from the "Burn the Fat" website. Is there any advice on either of these plans, or maybe a new plan all together? Thanks!!

1) Give up the "toning", you either gain muscle or lose fat.

Quote from Coach Joe Defranco

"Myth #1: Lifting light weights for high reps will "shape and tone" your muscles.

This is the grand daddy of all training myths! Somehow the aerobics, yoga and Pilate?s community have convinced us that when we perform bodyweight exercises or light resistance training for high reps, our muscles magically take on a beautiful shape without growing or bulging.

On the other hand, if you challenge yourself with moderately heavy weights, your body will take on a bulky, unflattering appearance. If you believe this, you probably still believe in the Tooth Fairy and Santa Claus!