T Nation

I just want to vent !!!

I have been working in the strength and conditioning field since graduating in 1999. I have been a trainer and management at several types of facilities, and have seen and worked with a lot of different Personal Trainers, and strength coaches. Has anyone else out there noticed the sudden flood of useless training methods that trainers are using these days. I know I’ll probably get flamed for this but I think a lot of Fitness professionals out there never really care about there clients seeing results. Everyone is too concerned with getting their client on a physioball, balance board, bosu or core board because it looks cool. I like to consider myself a successful athlete, and I’m not going to compare my self to a professional athlete, but I threw the 16lb. Hammer 200 ft, weighing 255, running a 4.8 40, and powersnatching 245. I did all of this with serious weighlifting, plyometrics and hard work. I’m not saying that some people don’t need balance or stability training, but I don’t know how many times I’ve seen a kid who can do military presses kneeling on a physioball, but can’t squat their own bodyweight.
I’m just fed up, and this is one of the reasons I’ve decided to start my own business. Some of the health screenings I’ve been forced to put people through have been ridiculous. I worked at one facility that had a health screening that consisted of 6 shoulder impingement tests, and didn’t even have sit and reach on the protocol. What happened was a trainer goes out and gets certified by an organization like NASM, which I consider good for rehab more than anything else and then comes back to the boss and says look what I’ve put together for a health screen, and the boss says thats great, this makes us look really smart. Needless to say people take this health screen with flying colors, and then go out and start doing squats with their heels coming off the floor and their knee’s practically touching at the bottom of the movement.