I Just Joined the YMCA! Now What????

Hey whats up! I just joind the YMCA and I want to start working out reaally seriousely. I want to go every day but I dont know how to start. Im thinking about doing weights one day and Cardio the next and so on… do you think this is a good idea? Right now I am 5’11 and I weigh 193 pounds and I got no muscle its basically just fat… Im not fat though im just chubby… and Im 18 years old… how long untill i will see results if I stay commited and eat healthy and everything?

Hey man, welcome to the site, start reading stuff…

Please list your goals.

I.E. Do you want to compete in powerlifting? Bodybuilding? Fitness? Triathlons? Strongman? Bench 400lbs, and squat 600? Please define your goals. I started lifting seriously a year ago, but I am still learning. My number one reccomendation is learn how to deadlift, back squat, front squat, and row. Throw in brench press, military press and pull-ups and you have a foundation for fitness. Look up “Total Body Training” by Chad Waterbury don’t worry about running just yet, if you want cardio try complexes or sprints they will have a huge postitive impact on your metabolism. That means you can get leaner while eating more food. Also buy the product Surge in the T-Nation store. Post workout nutrition is vital to making gains in body compostion.

ymca huh? thats where i train, it sucks. My advice, cancel ur membership and look for a real gym.

What to do next? Hhhmmmm. I would say watch out for the cop, the indian and the construction worker. You also might want to be suspicious of the dude in short cutoff shorts always asking you if you need a spot on the bench.

What ever you do dont quit.Keep going you can workout the details later.75% of people who join a gym quit in 2 months,if you avoid being one of them the rest will work its self out.Lift /cardio is a fine start.