I Hate the Deadlift Lockout

So I have been powrlifting for about 6 months or training in that style for 6 months. I have been lifting for 2 years. Lately I started 531 modified a little bit to accommodate my needs. I am on cycle 2 week 3 on my deadlifts. Please watch the video and critique me on my form or pull. What went wrong? I got the pull above knee but just gave out for some reason.

It would be more beneficial to see a video filmed directly form your side. That way people can see your hip position and general movement progression better. To me it looks like your hips rise way too early in the lift.

I would do a few things:

• Speed up your setup (that will probably be enough to complete the lift)
  • Improve your glute strength. I’d do this with conventional deadlifts (try them as back off sets)
2 Likes

Next I will record from the side for a better view. Thank you for the input.

This day I just felt like being more careful with my setup but I guess that hurt me more than it helped me. I do incorporate high volume conventional deadlifts on my heavy squat days.

Honestly you gave up. You could of locked that out. Just keep training and getting stronger, it’s possible your lower back rounded badly but it’s hard to see from this angle but it just looks like you quit in less than a second and didn’t even try to fight it very long.

3 Likes

You just need to keep getting stronger. I’d grab a belt at some point as well.

Ouch but I do kind of agree. This day was kind of mentally bad day for me I thought that too when I went for a second attempt and still couldn’t get the lockout.

At what point do people feel a belt is needed? I see guys who pull less than I do but still get these expensive belts. I know inzer is the go to belt for everyone, so if I do get one I’ll probably get a inzer lever belt 10mm. I never feel like my back is rounding unless I really break form.

Get a belt now. No specific reason to not have one.