I Hate Strength Training

I worked as a personal trainer for a “health club” for four months at the beginning of the year. I used to train 4-5 times per week but after about a month into the job I started to lose interest.

By the time I quit, it went down to zero interest in the gym.

Has anyone else experienced this phenomena after a period of “overexposure”?

Loss of motivation can oftentimes be a sign of overtraining. Take a week off. During this time, examine your training, set some goals, etc. See how you feel when you come back.

[quote]AlbertaBeef wrote:
I worked as a personal trainer for a “health club” for four months at the beginning of the year. I used to train 4-5 times per week but after about a month into the job I started to lose interest.

By the time I quit, it went down to zero interest in the gym.

Has anyone else experienced this phenomena after a period of “overexposure”?[/quote]

your probably just burnt out. just stop going to the gym, go out drinking and when one of your friends say, “your shrinking” you know its time to get back in.

Lifting’s not for everyone.

You don’t hate strength training; you hate your working environment. Go back and read this post from December; think back to that enthusiasm.

http://www.T-Nation.com/readTopic.do?id=862482

I actually laughed out loud at your “I’m going to go out and change the world” attitude. It’s admirable, but it’s like putting Leonardo Da Vinci in a fingerpainting class. You’re exactly what commercial gyms expect: an enthusiastic young guy whom they can suck dry for a few months until he quits. You fell right into the trap, I’m sorry to say.

I’d say your life cycle in that business is up; get out NOW.

The secret to success in this industry is finding people who aren’t trying to do things better; they need to be looking to do things differently. You can’t make something that is inherently corrupt and flat-out shitty “better.”