T Nation

I Don't Understand My Results

I started lifting as a bodybuilder and I recently(less than a year ago) started training for powerlifting and strongman. So know I keep my reps very low(1-5) and sets high(4-5 not counting warmup) and do just the big three exercises with 2-3 assistance exercises.

Well I have noticed that know that even though I am eating more carbs and fats in my diet and having 1 full cheat day a week to eat what ever I am actually making really good bodybuilding gains. Like my strength in the big three exercises are increasing every week but, I am noticing that I am making even better bodybuilding gains.

Like my waist has decreased in size, my body fat is going down, my abs and veins are becoming much more noticable, and my shoulders and lats are are spreading out now... why am I making body building type advances now that I am not even training for that.

So you are lifting for strength and eating for size? Size like a winning combination for getting bigger to me.

Yes but thats the thing I am training for strength with low reps and eating loads and now I am actually decreasing my body fat levels and increasing muscle which I am not complaining I just dont understand why that when I was training for size ans shape I was not getting these kinds of gains.

Maybe your diet and training back then simply weren't adequate.

It's almost like muscle size and strength are related somehow.

Plus some people respond better to low reps.

Yup, some people do respond well to low reps. You can get size gains with 5 reps. Plus the big three are great hormone producers and calorie burners.

I've never really seen many body builders deadlift, and IMO it is may be one of the best mass building exercises ever.

Where strength goes, size is sure to follow! Eat More!!

Couldn't be! We all know that all bodybuilders are weak and all powerlifters are fat!