I Can't Twist My Wrists for Front Squats

i tried front squats today for the first time and i could really feel my quads burning. i have never done them before. i could not do them with decent weight with my hands and wrists twisted back and the bar just on my shoulders, it hurt a bit. so instead i was gripping the bar like i was doing an overhead press but rested the bar on my chest which worked out pretty good. that should be the same things right?

You might have troubles with balance and wrist pain as the weights get heavier. There are some common grip variations for people without the wrist flexibility, i believe there a several threads about it in the olympic lifting section.

You won’t be able to safely use substantial weight like that, so you need to either get good at the crossed grip, or the oly grip, either one is fine. If you’re set on being able to do them oly style, do your warmup sets like that, then switch to crossed grip for working sets…then gradually work to heavier weights using oly grip, and over time your wrists will get the flexibility required to make it somewhat comfortable.

Same problem here. I either do it with crossed grip or with straps.

here’s another one.

theres nothing there

I don’t know what happened. Google crossed grip front squat and click in the images.

[quote]hungry4more wrote:
You won’t be able to safely use substantial weight like that, so you need to either get good at the crossed grip, or the oly grip, either one is fine. If you’re set on being able to do them oly style, do your warmup sets like that, then switch to crossed grip for working sets…then gradually work to heavier weights using oly grip, and over time your wrists will get the flexibility required to make it somewhat comfortable. [/quote]

What do you consider “substantial” weight?