T Nation

I Can't Squat..

…well for a while anyway. I have been getting a pain in my lower back that seems to have stemmed from doing the Stronglifts routine. I’m a total beginner and I got my squat up to 115kg but the 2.5kg constant increases seems to have been to much too soon for my back. I am currently doing the art of Waterbury and am going to take a month of from squatting to let my back (hopefully) get better. What do you recommend doing instead of the front squats? I did leg press with leg extensions as an off the cuff substitute today but would like some advice from the dudes who actually know what they are doing! Advice much appreciated.

Mike.

Would be useful to see a video but regardless you should probably see a recommended physio. Is it front or back squat or both you have a problem with? Can you do light front and/or back squats? If so maybe just work on form, volume, pauses etc, assuming no pain. Otherwise anything that doesn’t aggravate it is fair game. Can you deadlift, good morning, hold a weight out in front at arms length? If you can do those in conjunction with leg press you should be able to work back up quite quickly, when you’re good and ready.

Hi. Thanks for the reply. I can do light/moderate front and back squats without pain but there is a stiffness in the following days that doesn’t feel right. It has a completely different feeling to DOMS. I wouldn’t say it is painful, but instead a bit of a warning sign that I might need to back off for a bit. I have been doing lighter deadlifts and previously good mornings with no serious problems and holding a weight out in front is not a problem at all, In fact I could probably squat close to the weight I have done previously but I feel it would be in the next few days that I would suffer.