T Nation

I Can't Eat Enough

So I’m still new to training seriously and I’m looking for some advice. I’m currently sitting at around 155 lbs with 7.5% body fat. My diet isn’t amazing (obviously), but I’ve just been trying to use the basic principle of:

1. eat big
  2. lift big
  3. get big

The only problem is, I don’t eat enough food, and I know it, especially for someone trying to bulk up. I have a really hard time trying to gain weight and I always have. I just don’t have the appetite for it. Whenever I roll out of bed in the morning, I eat three pancakes and I’m full.

I try to eat more, but honestly my stomach just doesn’t want it. Sometimes I’ll cram my face to the point where I feel like I’m about to vomit, but it seems counter-productive because then I’m not hungry at all for a long time.

I was just wondering if anyone has any tips for eating more food. Are there any supplements that I should look at for increasing my appetite or something else I should do? Thanks for any help.

Have you heard of liquid meals? Ya know, put all your food in a blender, mix it with some milk, and viola!

Actually, I would take a couple scoops of whey protein, a couple bananas, some peanut butter, milk, and anything else you might want to add. This seems to work for me when I just can’t choke down another meal.

Just try to get more calorie dense foods:
-almonds/walnuts
-natural Peanut butter

You can also make huge shakes:
1C whole Milk
2 scp whey protein
1 banana
2 tbsp natty PB
1/2C oatmeal

throw it in a blender, mix until it’s all a good consistency. I just came up with that off the top of my head, so do some research and read the link I posted.

good luck!