T Nation

Hypertrophy First or Strength First?

I'm still relatively new to lifting although I started last year and have workable technique for most lifts. I took the summer off and now I'm weak as hell again.

Should I pack on muscle before training for strength? Or the other way around?

Dangles,
If you train hard and you eat well, you will get both strength increases AND hypertrophy regardless of specialization. They are not mutually exclusive and are in fact coextensive. No one gets really strong and stays at the same level of muscularity, and no one gets big off of benching 135.

SHORT VERSION: If a 5x5 program makes you happy do that. If a 5 day bodypart split works for you, do that. TECHNIQUE above all else.

It is really up to you, but you want to do something that keeps your enthusiasm levels up for going to the gym and allows you to continue to make quantifiable progress (lift numbers, bodyweight, etc). As you might have guessed, both of these are related as well. Consistency in both attendance and progress, especially at the beginner level, are more important than the specificities of training methods.

Sometimes people will say that you need to get your basic lifts up before you can really train efficiently for hypertrophy. I don't know how true that is, since a lot of people have gotten plenty big of off tweaking basic body part splits to address their individual needs.

More important probably than this distinction is that you train with proper technique, especially with larger compound movements such as the squat and the deadlift, or even the clean. I hardly ever see anyone do these exercises properly with a lot of weight, so you really want to emphasize doing the exercises correctly, above all else.

Strength begats size and size begats strength.

If you're a beginner, size will come as a part of the beginner gains.