Hunting

Any hunters here? Getting my license in a month (bow/shotgun) and have a whole bunch of questions.

[quote]alpha_mike wrote:
Any hunters here? Getting my license in a month (bow/shotgun) and have a whole bunch of questions.[/quote]

You have several here. Go ahead with questions and somebody is bound to chime in although different regions may have different answers.

There are previous hunting threads also that may give you valuable insight.

I live in the Northeast (NJ). I’m going to start with shotgun hunting pheasant and turkey hunting this winter and spring, respectively. Next year, I wanted to bow hunt deer. I’m new to the bow, so I need some time to really get it down. My question, or what I’m looking for, is information on stalking deer vs. sitting in a tree stand. I realize it will be much more difficult stalking but that’s the approach I’d like to take.

Yes, I understand and accept that I’ll significantly decrease the likelyhood of taking a deer down by doing this and it probably takes a long time to develop skills and senses for this sort of approach, and I’m ok with that. Moving on, anyone hunt deer or any game this way? Just looking for some insight, stories, and tips. Thank you.

Stalking with a bow is a zero sum game. The proximity needed will be nearly impossible to achieve. Don’t make things harder than they need to be, just bow hunting will be challenge enough for a beginner.

Stalking takes a lot of patience. It helps to know the terrain you are hunting and the likely spots the deer will be in. If you think you are moving slow, move slower.

[quote]Testy1 wrote:
Stalking with a bow is a zero sum game. The proximity needed will be nearly impossible to achieve. Don’t make things harder than they need to be, just bow hunting will be challenge enough for a beginner.[/quote]

I realize it will be much more difficult stalking but that’s the approach I’d like to take.