T Nation

Hun Gar Kung Fu and Keysi

I've searched it in almost every spelling form I could think of and nothing came up.
I was reading this forum for a little while now just reading up on what everyone is doing for martial arts and combat sports etc. and I found it very interesting that Hun Gar Kung Fu is never mentioned. I've been doing it for a couple years now and am finding it to be extremely useful ( I have used it in real life situations ) and especially now that I've combined it with keysi I think it is one of the best self defense arts out there, ofcourse it is martial arts, and everyone has their own opinion on what is the best.

Out of curiosity has anyone had any experience with Keysi or Hun Gar and what did you think of it?

Cheers

I like to keep it simple with BJJ and Muay Thai. Kung Fu (generally speaking) in all of its awesomeness is a little too much for me.

Nope.

Know nothing about it.

This post has sentoguy all over it.

I

Keysi is retarded IMO. There's some basically solid stuff there, but the rest always has me scratching my head in disbelief.

I'm sorry if you try to headbutt some guy in his chest, please be prepared to be skulldragged by your hair and/or eat a knee.

There's also a really gay movement I seen them doing where they line their ass up with their opponent's crotch, and then attempt to strike his legs and shit while facing the opposite direction. WTF? Why would anyone in their sane mind turn their back to their opponent.

There's just alot of shit in general that they perform that makes me wonder, seriously. For an art that was supposedly born from the "streets" there's not alot of consideration for typical situations that occur in streetfights. I know now that the two primary creators were previously long time Juan Fan JKD proponents and JKD branchoffs have their fair share of bullshido and wankers who create stuff that looks cool but's never actually been tested on a live, dynamic opponent in full contact.