T Nation

HS Lacrosse Player Training Log

Hello everyone. I’m making this log for a few reasons:

1. To track my progress.
  2. To be a guinea pig for any lacrosse player looking for guidance/an example of what or what not to do.
  3. Because it’s fun!

First off some stats, I’m a sophomore, 15 years old, I play close defense and sometimes LSM. I play in the fall and summer. Fall is lighter in terms of practices and games, and summer is the “heaviest” season.

Currently I will be running the “WS4SB Strength and Speed Template” with a few tweaks. I will also be taking some of the speed training principles from Joe DeFranco’s “Speed Manual” and using them on the speed day. Here is my “template”:

Sunday: Individual Practice/Team Practice/Prospect Camp
Monday: OFF
Tuesday: Max Effort Upper EDIT: Speed&Conditioning/Speed
Wednesday: Speed&Conditioning/Speed EDIT: Max Effort Upper
Thursday: Very Light Individual Practice/Team Practice
Friday: Max Effort Lower&Conditioning/Rep Upper&Max Effort Lower
Saturday: Rep Upper/OFF

Some days have more than one option because depending on where I am in the year, things change.

I’ve chose the Low Handle Trap Bar Deadlift, Front Squat, and Below The Knee Rack Pull for my max lower lifts, and the Bench Press, Floor Press, and Overhead Press(Strict) for my max upper lifts.

Thanks to anyone who cares to follow along!

9/13/18, Thursday: Max Effort Lower&Conditioning (Supposed to do this on Friday but moved it up because the hurricane will prevent me from training tomorrow):

Low Handle Trap Bar DL, Worked up to 3rm: 370lbs (Assuming my trap bar is 45lbs, will weight it one day)
Back Raises, 4x15: 60lbs
Trap bar shrugs, 3x15: 145lbs
S/S
Plate Pinch Holds, 3x40-60s: 35lbs(each hand)
Sled Sprints, 1x6 30yd sprints: 75lbs

Good training session today. Didn’t do too much for conditioning today because I’m just starting off, will do more next time.

Pretty nice deadlift for 15! I’m 19 and haven’t hit that yet.