HPTA Basics and the Effects of AAS On It

Let me start off by saying that I am not a medical professional, just someone who likes to research information and become as knowledgable as possible. This thread is meant to start and further discussion on the basics of how our bodies produce natural Test, estrogen, LH, FSH, etc., and how it all relates in the use of AAS. By all mans if I am incorrect in something please correct me as this is meant to be educational and not to spread misinformation. Lastly I will say that The information in here Ii feel is not so easy to find and wanted to collect it all in one place, so that any newbie can understand how their body works a little bit before deciding to alter it with hormones and possibly ruin their bodies’ natural balance.

Abbreviations:

• E2 = Estradiol
  • T = Testosterone
    -HPTA = Hypothalamic-Pituitary-Testicular-Axis (can also be HPG
    -LH = Luteinizing Hormone
    -FSH = Follicle Stimulating Hormone
    -GnRH = Gonadotropin-Releasing Hormone
    -DHT = DihydroTestosterone
  • HCG = Human Chorionic Gonadotropin
  • ER = Estrogen receptor

Here we go: The way male bodies naturally produce test begins in the Hypothalamus, which is where your body secretes GnRH. This signal is sent to the anterior pituitary gland, which when it receives the GnRH, in turn releases the appropriate amounts of LH and FSH. FSH plays a role in spermatogenesis (sperm production) and LH stimulates the Leydig cells within the testes to produce T. This T then binds to several receptors within the body, and also converts to both DHT where it exhibits androgenic effects, and E2 through aromatase. As more T is produced it reaches a point where your body then send s signal to stop GnRH secretion and thus testosterone production and spermatogenesis. This is known as the negative feedback loop. Your body fluctuates like this approximately 6 times a day.